Tattooed and employed!

Everyone knows of the growing controversy over people who have tattoos and workplaces who don’t appreciate the art. I have personally never had an issue with this, however the one tattoo I do have is in a place that can be easily covered. I plan on adding to it soon but the addition won’t be too much extra to cover of needed.

I got my tattoo when I was 19. Granted that’s a good age, I think, but I was living with my parents and they were not in complete agreement with me wanting one, despite the fact that my dad has one. I had always told my mom I  wanted one and she never openly disapproved until the day I went to have it done. I let her know my entire game plan, what I was doing, where I was going, who I was going with, etc. Ultimately, after the fuss I got from both of my parents, they said it was my decision. Of course, wanting to do what I wanted, I stayed the night with my best friend and her and I went that night to have my tattoo done.

The next day is when it really got bad…my mom called and asked if I had gotten my tattoo which I said yes. When I plain and simple answered her, she went over the edge on me! She went on a rant fussing and yelling at me over the phone. Then she asked if I was coming home and I said, “If all you’re going to do is complain, then no I am not coming home.” By this point, my best friend’s mom had overheard everything and let me know that I was welcome to stay there if I wanted to.

This was the point of my mom’s rant that we went too far with me…  (referring my grandmother, whom I was extremely close to before she passed away in 2012) my mom says, “that woman is rolling over in her grave right now.”

I cried.. a lot and told her she didn’t have to say that to me (my grandma didn’t like tattoos on women). Needless to say, shortly after, I hung the phone and winded up staying with my best friend again.

The next day, I went home and my dad wouldn’t even look at me…my mom wasn’t there due to work but when she got home, both of them asked to see it. I showed it them, skeptically, and BOTH of them proceeded to tell me it looked good and throughout the healing process, my mom would help put lotion on it for me, considering it’s on my right shoulder blade. As she got more and more used to it, she later said that my grandma would’ve liked it too. She even knows about my addition plans and is ok with it and even wants one herself.

I have recently read a post about a mother who said her son broke her into a million pieces, or something crazy like that, by getting a tattoo.

My point here was to let people know that just because you may have a different opinion than somebody else, nobody deserves to be discriminated against or treated badly. I know from experience that things can be said and feelings can be hurt.

Parents, if you have children like me in any way, be grateful their making their own choices, even if you think it’s wrong. Love them anyway!

Thank you for reading Ladybugs and Manbugs 🙂

Leave a Reply

